Indian Film Festival Melbourne 2017 saw it all yesterday evening. A night full of the who’s who of the industry, paparazzi, spellbinding performances and celebrations. IFFM 2017 sure was a star-studded gala.

The festival stood true to the theme of celebrating diversity in Cinema and these 13 days long event will witness a host of activities and events such as films screening, various masterclasses by eminent filmmakers, awards nights, dance competitions, concerts, competition, to name a few.


The IFFM Award winners were announced on 11th August evening at the event at the iconic venue – Melbourne Recital Centre.

The evening kick-started with the enlivening performance by the Kakkar sister- Akriti, Prakriti and Sukriti who performed together for the first time in Australia.

In the entire list of awards bagged by Indian films, ‘Dangal’ and ‘Bahubali 2’ stole the show.

The list of the winners at Westpac IFFM are as follows:

Best Indie Film : Lipstick Under My Burkha

Best Director : Nitesh Tiwari  for Dangal

Equality in Cinema Award: Director/Actor Rahul Bose for Poorna

Best Actress :  Konkona Sen Sharma for Lipstick Under my Burkha

Best Actor : Sushant Singh Rajput for Dhoni

Best Actor (Special Mention) : Raj Kumar Rao for Trapped

Best Film : Pink

People’s Choice Award : Dangal & Bahubali 2


The inaugural Equality Award was given to Rahul Bose for Poorna

Karan Johar was awarded the Leadership in Cinema Award at this prestigious festival and he presented the IFFM Diversity Award to Garth Davis, director of the Academy nominated film LION.

Aishwarya Rai Bachchan was awarded with the Westpac IFFM Excellence in Global Cinema award, presented by The Victorian Premier

Director Nitesh Tiwari was awarded Popular Choice and Best Director. Expressing his happiness, he said, “This is my international award and it will truly be remembered”.

An elated Sushant Singh Rajput said, “Thank you so so much. I’m so honoured. Last time I was in Melbourne it was in 2006, it was the Commonwealth Games where I was a backup dancer for the so so beautiful Bollywood stars and this time I’m here to receive the Best Actor Award.”

A truly special moment for Sushat, we say.

The Diva, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan was delighted on her win and she said, “I’m so humbled and filled with gratitude to be given this award. We as creative people always wish to do more and I’m far far away from resting. As an artist I have so much more to explore but it’s great to have this honour. But above all I must thank the fans, who have loved me so immensely and it’s because of you we get to live our dream, our passion “.

Filmmaker Karan Johar, in his true style, received the award from Simi Garewal and expressed, “This is my first time in Australia and what a special reason to be present here for it. For me filmmaking is always my first love. It’s amazing how as directors we get to build people, break them emotionally, cheer them and make them feel happy”.

The gala took place last night at the Melbourne Recital Center also witnessed the likes of Veteran actress Simi Grewal, Malaika Arora, Tannishtha Chatterjee, Shoojit Sircar and among other Bollywood stars.

The celebrations and parties aren’t over yet. The IFFM will continue until the 22nd August 2017.

Check out the pictures here:



Karan Johar presents the Diversity Award to Garth Davis for LION

Karan Johar with Mitu Bhowmick Lange

Konkona Sen Sharma recieves the award for Best Actress for Lipstick Under The Burkha

Nitesh Tiwari accepts to award for Best Film - Dangal

Nitesh Tiwari and Shobu Yarlagadda accept the joint award for Popular Choice Award for Dangal and Bahubali 2 respectively

Rajkumar Rao accepts the Best Actor (Special Mention) for Trapped

Rajkumar Rao

Sushant Singh Rajpur with Mitu Bhowmick Lange

Konkona Sen Sharma

Malaika Arora